Sgt Jeff Sheils tweets for the Cobourg Police Service Sgt Jeff Sheils posts content for the Cobourg Police Service


Cobourg police will be on alert in school zones
Cobourg police will be on alert in school zones
During the month of September police officers, special constables and auxiliary officers from the Cobourg Police Service will be conducting traffic ...Full Story
Friday, August 30
Two Men Arrested For Being Unlawfully in a Dwelling
At 11:17 pm on Sunday the 15th day of September 2019,  officers responded to a residential address in the downtown core, after receiving a ...Full Story
Monday, September 16
Weekly Media Release April 29- May 5, 2019
From the 9th day of September, 2019 through the 15th  day of September, 2019 the Cobourg Police Service responded to 210 occurrences including; 31 ...Full Story
Monday, September 16

The Cobourg Police Services Board (CPSB) is the civilian body that governs the management of the Police Service. As mandated by the Ontario Police Services Act, the CPSB consists of five members, two appointed by the Province of Ontario and three chosen by Regional Council.

The Board ensures the delivery of adequate and effective policing by appointing members to the service, working with the Chief in identifying objectives and priorities and by creating policies for service members to follow. The board may give orders or directions, but only to the Chief and not to any other member of the service.

The board is not allowed to direct the Chief with respect to specific operational decisions or with respect to the day-to-day operation of the service.

The Act requires that the Board consist of two Members of Council, a person appointed by Council, a person(s) appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, and an executive assistant.

Cobourg Police Services Board Members


Chair, Dean Pepper

Dean Pepper brings significant board governance, strategic development and management experience to the Cobourg Police Services Board. After graduating high school, locally, Dean attended both University of Toronto and Humber College, before returning to Cobourg to work in the family health care business – York Super Pharmacy – of which he now co-owns.

Dean always played an active role in the community through membership and directorship of various organizations, including the Rotary Club of Cobourg and the Northumberland Hills Hospital Board. His activities also include 17 years as an elected municipal Councilor for the Town of Cobourg. In this capacity, he served on a broad range of municipal committees including 10 years as council coordinator for the Protection Services portfolio – inclusive of policing.

Dean was the originating Chairperson of the Cobourg Police Services Board, established in 1992. In this capacity he served both local and provincial communities as a Director of the Ontario Association of Police Services Boards. Associated committee work included the Solicitor General Committee for Police Equipment and Chairman of Cobourg’s 911 Implementation Committee. These experiences gave him a deep appreciation, understanding and respect for how policing and safety contribute to the quality of life in our community. 

Vice Chair, Ronald Kerr

Ron comes from a military background and moved frequently during his formative years.

After graduating from Trenton High School, Ron attended the University of Toronto, graduating in 1966 with a Doctor of Dental Surgery Degree. Upon graduation from University he served in the Canadian Forces Dental Corps for 5 years. He moved to Cobourg in 1971 and opened a private dental practice which he operated for 30 years.

Ron has always attempted to play an active role, both locally and provincially, for a number of years he volunteered as a soccer coach and swim meet official. In 2011 he received a Volunteer Service Award from the Ontario Minister of Citizenship and Immigration in recognition of his work with the Golf Association of Ontario. Ron has in the past and continues to make significant contributions as a 30 year member of The Rotary Club of Cobourg.

Ron has twenty years of experience as a Board member, having served on the Boards of the Northumberland YMCA, the Dalewood Golf Club and currently sits on the Board of The Rotary Club of Cobourg. He also has considerable administrative experience having served as a Tribunal member with the Office of The Commissioner of Review Tribunals for six years, a quasi-judicial body which dealt with Canada Pension Plan Disability and Old Age Security Appeals, a role which required the understanding and administration of complex legislation.

Mayor John Henderson






Councillor Aaron Burchat







Sean Graham

Graham grew up in Northumberland County and has called Cobourg home for the last four years.

He is an advocate of community involvement and served as a Big Brother, has coached minor sports locally, and was an active member with the St. Vincent’s Kitchen, where he volunteered for many years preparing food and helping those in need.

He attended Jefferson College in New York, where he studied criminal justice.

Once back in Canada, Graham attended Durham College and the University of Ontario Institute of Technology while working on initiatives with youths at risk, where he initiated sports programming and personal mentoring programs.

He has also taken courses with the Canadian Police Knowledge Network (CPKN) and completed studies in operations management and project management, where he acquired a strong knowledge in budgeting and scheduling, managing project risk and changes and planning and initiating projects.

Graham is currently employed as a member with the Nuclear Security Response Force, with prior experience with an emergency response team fire rescue and served as a nuclear security officer.

Executive Assistant, Katie Darling









Click here for meetings minutes and agendas.  

Board Telephone: 905-372-1971

Board Email: